Our city: A love story.

IheartStPaul

When I had put in my notice that I was leaving my full-time job last June, I was scared. I was worried about how this decision would affect my family’s finances, I was worried that the decision would sabotage my career, and I was worried that my husband and family would be disappointed in me. But can I let you in on a little secret? It was one of the best decisions I have ever made. Yes, I am still unsure about the future of my “career,” but quitting my job has only created more opportunities for me.

A year ago today, I was an extremely unhappy person. I was the type of unhappy where I would cry on Sunday morning because I was already dreading another work week. I was the type of unhappy where I could barely talk to my husband after a long day of working, running around to get the kids from daycare, taking care of household chores while my husband was at night class, and trying to fit in at least a half-hour of playtime with the kids before putting them to bed and then turning on the computer to work some more. I was angry, too. I was angry at myself for not being able to manage everything better. I was angry at myself for feeling so unhappy. I was angry because I was not able to put my priorities first. I wanted to work for my family. I wanted to spend more time raising my kids. I wanted to pursue my interests.

Today, I feel more free to be me than I have ever felt before. Ever. I am more unsure about what the future holds for me in terms of a “career,” but this doesn’t scare me anymore. I am open. I am open to new opportunities. I am open to failure. I am open to new definitions of “success.” I am open to adventure. I am open to learning more about the city I live in and the people who live and dream here, too. I am open. I feel free. I am me.

I love myself today. I love the relationship I have with my husband today. I love my life today. I have always loved my kids with all of my heart, but today, I love that I get to love living life with them.

Sometimes I feel selfish for feeling this happy and great. There are many other people who feel the way I felt one year ago. I feel their pain. It is awful. But we all do what we have to do to pay the bills, to support our families, and to achieve our goals. I understand. This is why I have a deep desire to support the dreams of others. This is why I want to show support for the community I live in. This is why I want to share my discoveries with you. It started with the Be Nice Box last month. Don’t we want to live in a world where people are kind to others? Shouldn’t we show our children that even adults have opportunities to be more kind? You betcha!

Today, I want to share another awesome thing with you. A couple of weeks ago while getting my social media fix, I came across a tweet mentioning the HAMMS Event that is coming up next month. I was curious and began clicking links on Twitter and other blogs. (Side note: My husband makes fun of me for spending “too much time” on social media. I’ll admit it, I am a little addicted to social media. However, social media is a great tool for discovering what is beyond your front door when you are a mother and have children who cannot be left alone in the house.) What I discovered was truly awesome. For starters, HAMMS stands for Help a Minnesota Maker Succeed. Sweet. So this is an event that features fellow Minnesotans who are pursuing their dreams and interests by crafting their own goods. The event is also conveniently held in my neck of the woods at the old Hamm’s Brewery site on the East Side of St. Paul. Super sweet! And here’s the really cool part, one Minnesota Maker will win up to $5,000 of the event’s ticket sales. Super duper sweet! Are you swooning yet? You will for sure after seeing this beautifully designed invite from HAMMS Event:

hammsinvite2014

It’s discoveries like these that make me fall in love even more with my city and the community that surrounds me. What a wonderful way to get Minnesotans together to shop local and to support small businesses. I have been researching the vendors a bit, and I am amazed by the number of driven and talented makers who are out there. I can’t wait to check out their goods next month and to tell them that I admire them for pursuing their interests and dreams.

Interested in learning more about the event? I thought so. Here is what you need to know:

  • This year’s one-day event will be held on Saturday, May 3 at the old Hamm’s Brewery Shipping Docks (713 East Minnehaha Avenue, Saint Paul, Minnesota 55106).
  • From 10:00 AM to 4:00 PM you will have the opportunity to support over 50 vendors, taste beer and wine, and eat yummy food.
  • Ladies and gentlemen, you can even bring your doggies with you!
  • Tickets purchased in advance are only $10. You may also purchase tickets at the door for only $15. If you can’t make it to the event, you can still support our awesome local makers by making a taxable donation.
  • You can buy a t-shirt as well to show your support. I love t-shirts.

Visit the HAMMS Event site often for the latest updates and more information about this lovely event. I hope to see you there!

Hamm'sBreweryCollage

What are your dreams? What do you love about your city and community? What interests are you exploring?

6 thoughts on “Our city: A love story.

  1. Aimee! This is awesome. It is so fun to watch you on this journey and I am so grateful you are sharing this! I really liked when you talked about defining success in your own, new way. I think this is really important, and something we should all do. I am working on this myself. Thank you for sharing this and can’t wait to read more! Also, being in Norway, this makes me miss St. Paul and MN SO MUCH!

  2. Quitting my job was one of the best decisions I’ve made all year. Some people raise their eyebrows at me and judge for giving up a job in such a tough economy, but being miserable and resenting my work place (and all of the people I interacted with while there!) was not worth it. I’m glad I’m not alone. 🙂 Since leaving my job, I’ve been able to raise my grades, start my blog, spend more time with my family, and actually enjoy my 20’s. I’ll never regret it!

  3. I am open to new opportunities. I am open to failure. I am open to new definitions of “success.” – isn’t it interesting how the three things tie together? and i think that being open to opportunities and failure and new ideas of success is the perfect way to invite new and fresh things into your life. also- wish i could go to that hamms event – it looks awesome (we’re going to be in duluth)

Leave a Reply

