Happy sunny day.

Sunday

I admire my children. By trying to see life through their eyes, I am becoming a better person. By allowing myself to be curious like them, I am able to feel more free and creative. By following them, I am discovering more beauty in this world than I ever noticed before. Life is good, and today was an especially sunny day.

drinkingcoffeeoutside

It was warm enough outside to sit on the back step while I drank my morning cup of coffee. I was invigorated by the fresh air, which then inspired me to bring the kids’ bikes outside.

RidingBikes

We got a little muddy from riding bikes and stomping in puddles, but seeing the excitement on my kids’ faces was priceless. It was like they had stepped onto a new planet for the first time. They found puddles to jump in, sticks to pick up and inspect, and even litter to throw in the trash. They got their feet wet. They got their pants dirty. They got their hands scraped up a bit.  And they were happy.

DancingOutsideInMarch

After getting some dry pants on and going back outside, my daughter decided to take off her jacket and twirl. I wanted to put her jacket back on so she wouldn’t get cold, but I resisted the urge and allowed her to enjoy her freedom. And you know what? She was fine.

SnowballInMarch

After naps, we went back outside. My son ran out the door without his shoes or jacket on. Again, I resisted the urge to tell him to go back inside to get some shoes and a warmer shirt on. I let him run outside barefoot with snow still on the the ground. And you know what? He was fine. He was more than fine. He grabbed some snow and chased me to the corner with a big snowball in his hand. He got me. My pants got wet. But I was fine. Instead of telling him not to do that again, I decided to play along. I picked up some snow. My hands were wet. My hands were cold. My hands were dirty. But I was fine. And then I chucked a snowball at my husband.

Reflection

Today, I decided to live more like my children, and it was a beautiful day. How was your day? Did you do anything out of the ordinary?

6 thoughts on “Happy sunny day.

  1. Lovely post. Today we forgot about daylight savings time and stayed out playing until 7pm as a result. It felt really like summer.

  2. such a lovely post – i love the way you look at life and how much attention you devote to your children. we spent yesterday day at the lake of the isles dog park with our puppy – it was so much fun 🙂 and as for these pictures? so gorgeous – good work 🙂

    • It’s a great feeling to get outside without being super cold! Glad you were able to get out, too.

      Also, thank you for the comment on the photos! I would love to take a class someday to get a better understanding of what I am doing 🙂

Leave a Reply

