Dear WordPress community, thank you.

The other day I read this interesting blog post on Ana Lynn’s Blogging Adventures. The post is about what it means to be a good neighbor to your fellow bloggers. At first, I was surprised that anyone would encounter such a dilemma about whether or not to comment on other bloggers’ posts. Shouldn’t we feel free to leave respectful comments on anyone’s blog? How can we have a deeper conversation if we do not leave meaningful comments after reading blog posts? How can we let others know that we enjoy their writing if we do not take the time to “like” a post or add a short reply? But as I thought more and more about Ana Lynn’s post, I realized that there have been many times when I have hesitated to leave a comment on someone else’s blog. But why?

Well, sometimes I hesitate to leave a comment on someone else’s blog because I am afraid that my comment will not be as profound as what I just read, and I don’t want to waste another blogger’s time. Sometimes I don’t know enough about the subject of a post, so I don’t want my response to sound like I have no clue what I am talking about. Other times I choose not to write comments because I figure that a well-established blogger has better things to do than read and/or respond to little ol’ me. Sure there are situations when not leaving a comment may be the good neighborly thing to do. I certainly don’t want to be that annoying neighbor who is constantly trying to make conversation when you are trying to bring your groceries inside or when you want to enjoy some silence while watering the garden. However, if we are too silent, how will we ever contribute to our community?

Ana Lynn concludes that choosing when to comment is really about our own personal preferences and goals as bloggers. Commenting is and can be used to boost traffic. Commenting is one way in which we can create and maintain a strong community. And, commenting and receiving comments  is also a way in which we can make the blogging experience more fulfilling and enjoyable. However, it can’t hurt to be a good neighbor. It makes sense that we shouldn’t comment on other blogs simply to make ourselves more visible. But we also shouldn’t hold back when we have something to contribute.

When I started this blog last June, I had hoped to write something that would resonate with others. I wanted confirmation that I was not alone, and I wanted to let others know that they were not alone either. I wanted to create a better sense of community by giving myself a voice and encouraging others to find their voices. Although I expected at least of few of my relatives and close friends to be supportive of this goal of mine, I did not expect the WordPress community to be so inviting.

I am amazed by this community. There are so many bloggers and readers who are willing to keep the dialogue going by sharing similar stories and challenges with each other. In addition to these interactions, there are writing challenges, forums and resources available to the WordPress community. We are encouraged to learn more about using WordPress, we are encouraged to explore other blogs and interact with other bloggers, and we are encouraged to continue improving our blogging experience on a personal and/or professional level. We are encouraged to create without fear here. We are encouraged to build a community here. Isn’t that beautiful?

Without those first few “likes” and comments on my blog, I don’t think I would have felt very encouraged to continue blogging. But you, reader, you encouraged me, and you continue to do so. So, thank you. Thank you for opening up about your struggles. Thank you for sharing your thoughts. Thank you for reading. I share a lot about my personal experiences on this blog, but I do so because I want to connect with others who share similar experiences. We are a community. We are here to support each other. We were not put on this earth to live Hunger Games style. We are more connected than we realize or care to realize.

The WordPress community continues to amaze me. Recently, two bloggers stopped by to inform me that they have nominated me for a couple awards. The awards are certainly exciting, but what I am most excited about is that these two bloggers have enjoyed reading my blog. Thank you Priya at Sugarfree Sweetheart for nominating me for the WordPress Family Award. Thank you Marla at Marla’s Musings for nominating me for the Sunshine Award. Thank you both for your encouragement to keep writing.

It is my understanding that when you accept an award, you are supposed to display some fun badges on your blog and nominate other bloggers for the awards. Here’s to hoping that I do this correctly.

The WordPress Family Award

wordpress-family-award

When Priya nominated me for the WordPress Family Award in this post, she also made a lovely name banner for me (displayed below). Isn’t she the sweetest sweetheart? Thank you, Priya, for all of your encouraging and sincere comments on my posts. If you have not visited her blog yet, please do so. You will be delighted.

aimee

Now it’s my turn to pass on the award. I’d like to nominate those who have left meaningful comments that have fueled my desire to keep writing. I’d like to nominate those who have inspired me (some are seasoned bloggers who don’t know I exist, and I am embarrassed to tell them that I have nominated them for this award). And I’d also like to nominate those who have created a wonderful sense of community on their blogs and in their lives (from what I have read on their blogs). Here are those lovely bloggers:

Embracing the Scenic Route

Fly Softly My Love

Lady Champagne (on hiatus…)

Linking Loops

Ana Lynn’s Blogging Adventures

Her 30’s

The Waiting

Tipsy Lit

The Sunshine Award

sunshine-award

The lovely Marla nominated me for this award in this post. She is a fellow Zero To Hero blogger, and she is an adventurous soul. Check out her blog!

To officially accept this award, I am supposed to share 11 interesting things about myself and pass the award on to 11 other bloggers. I have been reading some other posts that mention this award. I believe that this award is typically passed on to bloggers who “positively and creatively inspire other bloggers” or simply help to make your day brighter. I want to make my nominations meaningful, so I’d like to pick just a few blogs that really stand out to me. Here are the lovely bloggers I would like to nominate for this award:

Sugarfree Sweetheart

Smirk Pretty

Beautiful Industry

these lovely things

Upstairs Productions

Apartment-Wife

Happy Little Kiwi

One Fifty

As for the interesting things about me? Do I really have to do this part? Since I only nominated 8 bloggers for this award, I will make a compromise and share only 8 things about myself that you may or may not already know.

  1. I love Netflix.
  2. I love beer, margaritas and wine (in that order).
  3. I love my two kiddos and my hubby more than I love Netflix, beer, margaritas and wine combined.
  4. While my kiddos and hubby were watching an episode of Mighty Machines on Netflix tonight, I snuck into the kitchen and ate four Oreo cookies.
  5. While the kids and I were at an indoor play area for an open play time this morning, my daughter’s diaper had leaked pee on my jeans when I had picked her up to take her to the restroom to change her. I had to walk around the play area for another hour with a big wet spot on my thigh near my crotch. Sure, I could have left, but I paid for that play session. And instead of going home to change after our play time, I continued on with my plans for the day and went grocery shopping with my kids while wearing jeans that smelled like pee. Fortunately, I always pack an extra pair of clothes for my kids when we venture out of the home, so I was able to change my daughter’s clothes right away.
  6. While I was eating my Oreos without anyone noticing tonight, I realized that I had never changed my jeans from this morning. And the jeans still smelled like pee.
  7. My favorite song to listen to this week when my kids are not around is “Closer” by Tegan And Sara.
  8. My favorite song to listen to this week when my kids are around is “Let the Bass Go” by Snoop Dogg. Yes, it is an appropriate song for kids.

Whew. There you have it. I hope you find some new blogs to add to your reading list. Maybe you will make an unexpected connection with one of these bloggers. Once again, thank you all for stopping by.

8 thoughts on “Dear WordPress community, thank you.

  1. what a sweet post and lovely award – thank you so very much for the nomination! i loved reading your bit above about comfort levels and knowing when to comment – very honest. i think it can be difficult when the subject matter is foreign or your unfamiliar with the blogger, but i agree it definitely encourages bloggers to continuing working on something that is important to them :0)

    thanks again!

  2. I’m still new to the blogging community, and everything about this post just warms my heart. Thank you for the nomination! I’m going to look through each of your nominees so I can see the amazing writing that’s out there!

  3. Me, sweet? Look who’s talking! 🙂 Thanks so much for the mention and that return award, congratulations on your awards, and here’s to many many more. Looking forward to your posts in 2014! Hugs.

  4. Pingback: Busy Bee | Ana Lynn's Blogging Adventures

  5. Love what you have to say here on comments. I tend to leave one when I have something to add – and agree that if it’s a very deep or involved post I sometimes don’t comment for fear of not really adding to what is already a great conversation. Where possible there I tend to at least “like” or tweet the post if I enjoyed it 🙂

Leave a Reply

