Take me to your leader…

In the words of Michael Scott: Take me to your leader. Oh wait, I am your leader.

Where am I going with this intro? Let me tell you a little story.

Once upon a time, there was a little girl. She loved to read. She also loved writing poetry. In grade school, she wrote about her feelings. She often felt not liked by others. And that was a problem because all she wanted was to be liked by others.

In high school, she wrote about her feelings and boys. She even received a poem from a boy. It was quite clever. He had used the titles of Backstreet Boys songs from the Millennium album in the lines of his poem. The girl also wrote an equally cheesy poem for a completely different boy. The poem did not contain lines from Backstreet Boys songs, but it did contain some lame metaphors and similes. To this day, the girl hopes that the boy threw the poem away, erasing any evidence of really crappy writing. During her high school years, the girl also wrote a lengthy paper about binge drinking, she wrote for the school newspaper, and she also wrote one of her personal favorite essays, which was on Crime and Punishment by Fyodor Dostoyevsky.

In college, the girl majored in English and took several creative writing and poetry classes. The more poems she wrote, the more she realized that her poetry was better expressed in other forms of writing, such as writing collages and essays. During these four years, she particularly enjoyed writing about Shakespeare’s Macbeth, Charles Perrault’s Little Red Riding Hood, and Charlotte Bronte’s Jane Eyre. During her first year of college, the girl also met a boy. She fell in love with him, but she refused to write a cheesy poem for him. So instead, she made a cheesy scrapbook for him. That scrapbook now sits on a bookshelf in their daughter’s bedroom.

During and after college, the girl worked in the banking industry for several years. She wrote newsletters about money stuff, she wrote letters requesting payments from account holders who were delinquent on their loans, she wrote training manuals for new employees, and she started a personal blog when she became a mom. A few years later, the girl landed her first job as a writer. She wrote about really depressing events that happened to families every day. She deleted her personal blog. She stopped writing for fun. And the girl became a little sad. Well, she became very sad. The girl quit her job. The girl started a new blog. And now she is enjoying writing again.

But wait, there’s more: Last week, the girl had the honor of being Freshly Pressed by WordPress for this post. What?!?!?! She literally jumped up and down, clapping and giggling when she found out the news. Now people (yes, real people) are reading what she is writing about. Although her writing isn’t perfect, some people have “liked” her posts and started “following” her blog. The girl is truly grateful for these “likers” and “followers.” They have given the girl more courage to continue to writing. They have given the girl a stronger voice.

Hi. That girl is me.

Although I am a little intimidated by this exposure and having so many people (maybe even you) want to follow my little blog to see what I have to write about here and there, I am also really excited. As I mentioned in one of my earlier posts, I want to create and be a part of a community of people who are striving to make life better in various ways. So, thank you to all of you who have decided to join my little community over here. Thank you to those who decided to check out what’s going on here. And I want to give a special shout-out to all of you who have left some encouraging, thoughtful and funny comments on my posts. I am doing my best to visit your blogs and see what all of you are up to. It may take a little time, though. Both of my kids came down with colds this weekend so I have been busy wiping their boogers off of their faces, hands, toys, etc. I ran out of Boogie Wipes so I have been using napkins and toilet paper because I didn’t feel like going to the store this weekend to pick up more wipes. I guess that’s just the half-assed domestic goddess in me!

So, what’s with this post’s intro?

I just wanted a reason to quote Michael Scott. It’s not like I think I am a leader because I have new followers or anything like that.

8 thoughts on “Take me to your leader…

  1. I’m a transplanted Texan deeply rooted in Cornwall, UK (also searching for a tag line…). Thank you for writing “boogers” — not a common expression in these parts! Made me laugh! Looking forward to you one day stumbling across my blog– when I finally take the running jump off the high dive! Keep having fun with the writing! Cheers Ya’ll!

Leave a Reply

